Clarity.

54DBC13C-2823-4C7A-8D71-88D829A35D43Let no evil talk come out of your mouths, but only what is useful for building up, as there is need, so that your words may give grace to those who hear. Ephesians 4: 29

One of the reasons that I enjoy the book of Ephesians so much is that Paul is real. He’s talking to real people, with real struggles, and he understands them because he’s been there too. So he’s frank and honest and tells it like it is.  And for what reason? To build up the body of Christ; to share a word of GRACE for all to hear. And I’m one of those who needs to hear today!

It’s true, at least for me, that it can be so easy to just blurt out any and all things on my mind, without taking the time to ponder their intent or lasting impression on the one my words are breathed upon.  This being the case, I know that I have missed many an opportunity for building up, but instead, my words have torn down relationships.

So if I am to be about building up the body of Christ, I know that I need to spend time in being built up myself. When I spend time in  prayer, meditation, scripture, and intentionally listening for God’s voice and guidance, I am given a better clarity of what it means to imitate Jesus in this world and in my life… so that [my] words may give grace to those who hear.

Sitting on my desk today is a candle given to me by a young couple soon to be married. It’s called Clarity.  My prayer for today is that God grant each of us clarity to separate the evil from the good in our hearts – so that we might be drawn to loving acts of kindness, mixed with words of frankness and honesty, to be about the work of building up the body of Christ .  peace. prL

Leave a Reply

