more than down dogs, cat cows and savasana.

 May you be made strong with all the strength that comes from his glorious power, and may you be prepared to endure everything with patience, while joyfully giving thanks to the Father, who has enabled you to share in the inheritance of the saints in the light. Colossians 1: 11-12

I’m rediscovering my yogi this summer.  Until I moved to Denver a year ago, I had practiced yoga consistently for a number of years.  In fact two of my dearest friends are yoga sisters that I met on the yoga studio floor. But when I moved to Denver, through the whole transition of new call, new house, new town, new grocery store (that took me 9 months to embrace!) new friends – my yoga practice suffered. I couldn’t find a studio I could bond with… I couldn’t find the rhythm in my day…. but most importantly, I believe, I didn’t have my yoga sisters with me.  Sisters who in our bonding relationship, encouraged one another, challenged one another, supported one another, and ached and sweat together! Yoga together made me stronger and knit the ties between us so that we shared much more than down dogs and cat cows and savasana.  We shared life and love.

The entire first chapter of Paul’s letter to the Colossians is one of encouragement (actually the whole letter is!).  It’s like Paul is a yoga instructor of the faith, instructing and guiding us in the faith, while at the same time acknowledging how tough it is to be a follower of Christ.  Yet he promises and paints a picture of reward for all the hard work – having strength and patience through it all.

There is one part , though, that I especially am drawn to today: Be prepared to endure all things with patience. Just as the yogi in me is being slowly retrained and strengthened, physically and spiritually, I also know that in all things of life, I am called to embrace life with patience, as I slowly train the muscles of my heart and soul to follow the path God is leading me on.

And on the days when the “mat of life” is calling my name and my body is slow to respond, let me know that God is working with and through me – strengthening me here and now and for the days ahead.  And for that I am to be thankful. And for my yoga sisters? I am forever thankful for their love and compassion, encouragement and support; for we are each made stronger in the other.

How about you? Where is God building your strength and for what?  And who are the ones encouraging you along the way?

Dedicated to my yoga sisters.

 

2 responses to “more than down dogs, cat cows and savasana.

  1. Lois & Fritz Voeltz

    Seriously Libbie – today you talk about patience!!! I’m laughing because my compressed vertebrae fracture situation and just realized it’s been 3 weeks since the accident & 2 weeks with the brace…and 10+ more weeks to go!?! No yoga for me but the deep breathing and intentionality to the JOYS of life are great reminders. Thanks dear friend!!

Leave a Reply

