it’s a dog’s life.

 What a wildly wonderful world, God!
    You made it all, with Wisdom at your side,
    made earth overflow with your wonderful creations.
Oh, look—the deep, wide sea,
    brimming with fish past counting,
    sardines and sharks and salmon.
Ships plow those waters,
    and Leviathan, your pet dragon, romps in them.
All the creatures look expectantly to you
    to give them their meals on time.

You come, and they gather around;
    you open your hand and they eat from it.  Psalm 104: 24-27a (27b-30)

This psalm just makes me want to do the dance of joy!  Especially these verses when I’m reminded of the Creator God who loves all that God has made and calls it GOOD.  And I marvel at the master plan – how the creatures of the sea, the birds of the air, the mountains and valleys and deserts, and us humans – are are part of this marvelous plan.

IMG_3477I have this Grandpuppy – Sierra – that my daughter claims that I love more than her.  Well that’s true only part of the time…. 🙂  Dogs, though, are amazing creatures to have around; Sierra loves me unconditionally, when she stays with us, she is always waiting for me to come home with the biggest wag of a tail that says, “I MISSED YOU!”, she listens and obeys (well most of the time), frolics with delight, smells creation likes it’s a wonder to behold each and every time she walks out the door,  and she sleeps without a care in the world.  It’s a dog’s life. Beautiful.  A life that knows that all is well with her world- that she will be cared for and loved, beyond worry.

Sometimes it’s just plain good to know that I don’t have to worry about life.  But it’s not easy to get to that place – so I need to be reminded that all comes from God. (You come, and they gather… you open your hand and they eat from it.. verse 27) It’s kind of like when my puppygirl Sierra sits and waits expectantly for treats from my hand, so does God provide for me.  It’s all there for the taking. If only I waited with such enthusiasm and trust.

Today I’ll take some love lessons from this four legged furry creature that God has blessed me with to be a part of my life.  Bless you Sier.  And bless your mommy for sharing you with us.

Leave a Reply

